> home > Society News
Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies
File 1 : Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies.pdf (32 KB)

Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies


Minutes of the 25th AAPPS Council Meeting


APCTP Pohang, June 17-18, 2011


The 25th Council Meeting of the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS) was held at the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP) in Pohang, Korea on June 17-18, 2011. Eleven council members and three observers were present: Shoji Nagamiya (President), Seunghwan Kim (Vice-President), Masatoshi Arai, Ching-Ray Chang, Hiroshi Ishiwara, Leong Chuan Kwek, Gui Lu Long, Dong-Pil Min, Tae Won Noh, Ling-An Wu, Sang Pyo Kim (Treasurer), Won Namkung (observer, Editor-in-Chief), Jeong-Weon Wu (observer, Korean Physical Society (KPS) Vice President) and Haruo Nagai (observer, Japan Physical Society (JPS) Secretary).


The president reported on recent activities, while Gui Lu Long and Seunghwan Kim respectively reported on the Asia Europe Physics Summit (ASEPS), and on the Bulletin. Reports were also given regarding the status of APPC12, proposed subdivisions within the AAPPS, financial situations, and non-council member countries. The treasurer reported on the transfer of funds from the Chinese Physical Society (CPS) account to the AAPPS bulletin account. The council meeting members decided that the Malaysia account should be transferred to the AAPPS account. Won Namkung (Editor-in-Chief) reported that 1,000 hard copies of the AAPPS Bulletin are planned for distribution to individuals and institutes. Furthermore, two video-conferences for the editorial board are scheduled in May and June and one meeting is scheduled in July at APCTP, and proposed the discussion on AAPPS logos.


There were reports of each society: AIP (Australia), IPS (Singapore), KPS (Korea), PS (located in Taipei), JPS (Japan), JSAP (Japan), AAPPS Committee in Japan, CPS located in Beijing, and APCTP. There was a videoconference with Youngah Park, National Assembly Member of Korea; the status of women in physics was reported by Ling-An Wu; and the status of the 12th Asia Pacific Physics Conference (APPC12) was reported by M. Arai. APPC12 will be held for six days in 2013 in either the Kansai region of Japan, or Tokyo.


There was a report on proposed AAPPS divisions by the president, who suggested five divisions and three interdivisions: plasma, astrophysics, nuclear physics, applied physics, and high energy physics in the first category and synchrotron radiation, neutron science and women in physics in the second category. The president proposed a resolution and the council agreed to look again at the bylaws for AAPPS divisions, to discuss the results at the next meeting, and to send a formal letter to existing organizations/associations for proposed subdivisions.


There was discussion regarding the frequency of council meetings. The 26th council meeting will be held in the form of video-conference in December 2011 or January 2012 and the 27th council meeting will be held in Singapore between June and August, 2012. There were discussions on Topical Meetings and ASEPS. For the budget, JPS and JSAP will pay contribution of the fiscal year 2009 to Bulletin and the membership will be used for C. N. Yang award and support of Council Meetings. The 25th Council Meeting was adjourned at 12:00, June 18, 2011.