AAPPS Bulletin
> home > Society News
Report on the 41st Council Meeting of AAPPS
Jun'ichi Yokoyama
File 1 : Vol30_No1_Society News-3.pdf (0 byte)

Report on the 41st Council Meeting of AAPPS


The 41st Council Meeting of the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS) was held at Borneo Convention Centre, Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia on November 17, 2019 prior to the 14th Asia Pacific Physics Conference. The participants were Gui-Lu Long (current president), Fu-Jen Kao (current vice-president), Jun'ichi Yokoyama (current secretary), Hyoung Joon Choi (current treasurer), and new council members Andrew Peele as a proxy of Jodie Bradby (Australian Institute of Physics), Xiu-dong Sun (The Chinese Physical Society), Tao Xiang (The Chinese Physical Society), Mio Murao (The Physical Society of Japan), Masaaki Tanaka as a proxy of Akira Yamada (The Japan Society of Applied Physics), Woo-Sung Jung and Keun-Young Kim (The Korean Physical Society), Meng-Fan Luo The (The Physical Society located in Taipei), Kurunathan Ratnavelu (Malaysian Institute of Physics), Ruiqin Zhang (The Physical Society of Hong Kong), and Rajdeep Singh Rawat (Institute of Physics Singapore). The meeting was observed by Medeu Abishev (Kazakhstan Physical Society), Seunglae Cho (Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP)), Eunjeong Lee (AAPPS liaison officer), and Naeun Park (APCTP).


Fig. 1: AAPPS council members and observers of the 41st council meeting at Borneo Convention Centre, Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia. Front row (left to right): Tao Xiang, Fu-Jen Kao, Gui-Lu Long, Jun'ichi Yokoyama, Hyoung Joon Choi, Kurunathan Ratnavelu; back row (right to left): Rajdeep Singh Rawat, Masaaki Tanaka, Meng-Fan Luo, Andrew Peele, Mio Murao, Xiu-dong Sun, Ruiqin Zhang, Keun-Young Kim, Woo-Sung Jung, Medeu Abishev.

(1) The secretary reported the presence of 14 new council members out of 15 members including two proxies, and the quorum was met. These numbers do not include current president Gui-Lu Long who will be the ex-officio member of the new council.

(2) President Long opened the 41st Council Meeting, chaired it, and welcomed the new council members who were just elected by the preceding ordinary general meeting.

(3) All the participants introduced themselves.

(4) The agenda was adopted as prepared by the secretary.

(5) The election of the next president was done according to the constitution and bylaws. First, the chairperson called for nominations of candidates to be the next president. Mio Murao nominated Jun'ichi Yokoyama as a candidate on behalf of the Physical Society of Japan. Fu-Jen Kao seconded this proposal, followed by four other council members. After a while, Ratnavelu proposed to close the nomination, which was seconded and agreed. The ballot was done as a vote of confidence, and Yokoyama was elected as the next president by common consent.

(6) Next, the election of next vice-president was executed in the same way. Woo-Sung Jung nominated Hyoung Joon Choi, which was seconded by Ruiqin Zhang and three other council members. There were no other nominations, and a vote of confidence was done. Choi was elected as the next vice-president by common consent.

(7) Appointment of secretary and treasurer: President-elect Yokoyama mentioned that it would take some time to appoint the new secretary. Since he is now the secretary, he knows how the position should be run and he will continue the position until the new secretary is appointed. As for the treasurer, he mentioned that as the account is now handled at the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP), Korea, it would be better to ask a Korean member, who is external to APCTP, to take the position. Yokoyama therefore asked Keun-Young Kim to be treasurer and Kim accepted. The proposal was unanimously agreed upon. The proposals for, and approval of, the secretary will be done through e-mail communications. (Later, new president Yokoyama nominated Nobuko Naka of Kyoto University as a candidate of the new secretary through e-mail communications in the council. This proposal has been approved by the majority of the council members and she was appointed as the new secretary.)

(8) The venue for the next face-to-face Council Meeting: Prior to the 41st Council Meeting, Secretary Yokoyama called for proposals for the venue of the next Council Meeting, and he received a proposal from Hong Kong. Ruiqin Zhang explained the proposal on behalf of the president of the Physical Society of Hong Kong (PSHK). PSHK is flexible regarding the date. It was tentatively agreed to have a meeting in the first half of December, avoiding dates that conflict with the Australian Institute of Physics (AIP) Congress.

(9) President Long closed the meeting.


AAPPS Bulletin        ISSN: 2309-4710
Copyright 짤 2018 Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies. All Rights Reserved.
Hogil Kim Memorial Building #501 POSTECH, 67 Cheongam-ro, Nam-gu, Pohang-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do, 37673, Korea
Tel: +82-54-279-8663Fax: +82-54-279-8679e-mail: aapps@apctp.org